Fellowship Programs

In an effort to increase the workforce of specialty trained practitioners providing high quality, evidence-based safe patient care, post-graduate training programs for Nurse Practitioners (NPs) are gaining momentum. While not required for practice, post-graduate programs build upon the entry-level competencies and national certifications to provide clinicians with additional management strategies.

The terms “residency” and “fellowship” have been used to describe these programs which are gaining popularity not only for new graduates, but for practicing clinicians who desire additional specialty training in various areas of medicine including emergency and critical care.  Based upon current evidence, the national NP community has suggested that the term “fellowship” is best used to describe these programs which are offered as an optional post-graduate training and not required for certification or licensure.

The existing postgraduate programs for emergency care listed below have many similarities.  A small number of students are accepted for training that is interdisciplinary in nature, with simultaneous admission and training of NP’s and Physician Assistants (PAs).  The average program length is 12 months, with curricula consisting of didactic and clinical experiences among varied specialty areas (e.g, critical care, cardiology, orthopedics).  Specialized training typically includes advanced airway management, emergency ultrasound, and advanced life support courses (ACLS, ATLS , PALS) .

NP Roundtable. Nurse practitioner perspective on education and post-graduate training.

 

Program

Contact

Application Deadline

Number Admitted

Brown University Emergency Medicine Fellowship
Brown Alpert Medical School
(Rhode Island)

Fiona Craft, NP
fcraft@lifespan.org

 
   12 Months

Capitol Emergency Associates of TeamHealth Emergency Medicine Advanced Practice Clinician Fellowship

EM APC Fellowship Handbook

Julie Keenan, Senior Clinical Recruiter, TeamHealth, at 855-568-8582 or email julie_keenan@teamhealth.com

Rolling 2 Fellows

EMAPC Fellowship at St. Joseph Medical Center
(Tacoma, WA)

Application Form (.doc)

Tom Vascik, Program Director
tom_vascik@teamhealth.com

Sam Lee, Program Medical Director
samlee814@gmail.com

  12 Months

Emergency Medicine NP and PA Fellowship

Carilion Clinic
(Virginia)

 

Randy Howell
jrhowell@carilionclinic.org

aiparket@carilionclinic.org

 September 1 for February start  4 Fellows
12 Months

Florida Emergency Physician (FEP) of TeamHealth Program

Florida Hospital in Orlando
(Orlando, FL)

 

Shasta McGill
Shasta_Mcgill@teamhealth.com
Rolling Up to 10 Fellows
12 Months

Carolinas Center for Advanced Practice Fellowship

Carolinas Healthcare Emergency Medicine
(North Carolina) 

Britney Broyhill, NP Director
britney.broyhill@carolinashealthcare.org

October 1 for April start; April 1 for Oct start

One Every
6 Months
12 Months

Emergency Nurse Practitioner Fellowship Program

Magnolia Regional Health Center
(Mississippi)

Amanda Comer, Core Faculty
AComer@mrhc.org

July 31

2 Fellows
12 Months

Mayo School of Health Sciences, Rochester
(Minnesota)

www.mayo.edu/mshs

search: nurse practitioner emergency

Victoria Clemens, PA-C
clemens.victoria@mayo.edu

April 1 for Sept start;

Nov 1 for March start

2 Students Every 6 Months
18 Months

Mid-Atlantic Emergency Medical Associates
(Charlotte, NC) 

Kathy Jordan, DNP, MS, FNP-BC, ENP-BC, ENP-C, SANE-P, FAEN
kjordan@mema.net

October 15, 2018

2 Students 

Jane R. Pearlman NP/PA Fellowship in Emergency Medicine

Northshore University Health Systems, Emergency Medicine
(Evanston, Illinois)

Alison Ruiz
aruiz2@northshore.org

Applications: Jan 4
Due: March 7

2 Grant Funded Benefited Fellowships/yr

Advanced Clinical Provider Fellowship in Emergency Medicine Program

Northwell Health
(New York)

Director: Andrew Rotjan
ARotjan@northwell.edu

October and April

1-4 fellows

St. Luke’s University Health Network
(Pennsylvania)

Bethlehem and Allentown, PA

APEMCCfellow@sluhn.org

March 30 for October start

 

Team Health EMAPC Emergency Medicine Fellowship

Team Health Emergency Medicine, Mid-America Division

Deborah Reed
deborah_reed@teamhealth.com

July 30 for March 1st start

5 fellows per year 

University of Iowa Carver School of Medicine
(Iowa City, IA)

 

Kelby Kiefer
kelby-kiefer@uiowa.edu

February 1 for June start;

August 1 for February start.

 1-2 Residents/interview cycle

Nurse Practitioner Residency in Emergency Medicine

New York Presbyterian Hospital
Weill Medical College of Cornell University

Rosa Borensztein, NP
rborensz@nyp.org 

Applications accepted January to June for November start.  2 NPs per year for 14.5-month program

Nurse Practitioner Residency Program

Albany Medical College
(New York)

Adam Lloyd
LloydA@amc.edu

Rolling admission, start in December

5

GSEP Post-Graduate Emergency Medicine APP Fellowship Program

GSEP Emergency Medicine

Sean Therien, DSc, EMPA-C
stherien@gsep-pa.com

Rolling admission

2-4