There are an estimated 13,000 Nurse Practitioners currently practicing in emergency care settings.  Certifications of the Emergency Nurse Practitioner (ENP) vary, with the majority certified as either a Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) or Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (ACNP). Scopes and standards for practice, along with competencies for entry level practice, support, define and further standardize ENP practice. The Competencies for Nurse Practitioners in Emergency Care, developed by the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) in collaboration with other nursing organizations, represents entry-level competencies for NPs in any emergency care setting.

ENP Overview
ENP Regulation
Competencies for Entry level practice
AAENP 2015 Member Survery Results
Scopes & Standards for ENP Practice